

Wildlife Management Advisory Council North Slope

Special Edition June 2008

Celebration for Yukon North Slope Elders

A special evening event recognizing Aklavik Elders for their contributions to the Wildlife Management Advisory Council (North Slope) [(WMAC NS)] was held in December of this past year in the community of Aklavik. For over two decades the Council has worked with Elders in the community to incorporate traditional knowledge into both its research and planning process. The use of traditional knowledge has lead to positive results for wildlife conservation and management on the Yukon North Slope.

The celebration involved feasting, speeches, a slide show, and presentations, all in the name of appreciation for the contributions of Elders who have helped to make the application of their many years of acquired knowledge and practical experience possible.

The Council recognized individuals who have passed on, as well as those who are still active in the community:

Danny A. Gordon Andy and Sophie Kayotuk

Tom Arey

George Allen

Titus Allen

Harry Gordon

Amos Paul

Kathleen Hansen

Gus and Jean Tardiff

Thomas Selamio

Nellie Arey

Barbara Allen

Annie B. Gordon

Jacob Archie

Danny C. and Annie C. Gordon

Sheba Selamio

Moses Kayotuk

Donald Aviugana

Sara Meeyok

Elders each received personalized framed certificates, as well as small gifts from WMAC (NS). The Council also recognized two important partner organizations: the Aklavik Elders Committee and the Aklavik Hunters and Trappers Committee, for whom gift



Annie B. Gordon accepting her gift of appreciation - an engraved tea kettle. Photo credit Jennifer Smith

certificates were also presented.

Guests in attendance included representatives from the Aklavik Hunters and Trappers Committee, Parks Canada, Yukon Government, Canadian Wildlife Service, the Joint Secretariat, and the Inuvialuit Game Council.

Lindsay Staples, Chair of WMAC (NS), Frank Pokiak, Chair of the Inuvialuit Game Council, and Norm Snow, Executive Director of the Joint Secretariat, all gave speeches, extending gratitude for the knowledge and experience that the Elders have shared for the benefit of present and future generations so that they may enjoy the land and water, fish and wildlife of this unique place.

Quyanainni. Thank you.

See the other side for more photos of the event.













Clockwise from top right: Lindsay Staples donning his gift from the Aklavik HTC; Doug Larsen presenting Moses Kayotuk with his gift and certificate; recognized Aklavik Elders, guests, and members of the WMAC (NS); community members enjoying the feast; Richard Gordon presenting Nellie Arey with her gift and certificate. Photo credits Jennifer Smith

Inuvialuit Game Council: Members: Danny C. Gordon and Ernest Pokiak; Alternates: Evelyn Storr and Lawrence Amos Government of Canada: Member: Vacant;

Alternate: Wendy Nixon Government of Yukon:

Member: Doug Larsen; Alternate: Dorothy Cooley Chairperson: Lindsay Staples

Secretariat: Jennifer Smith Michelle Christensen P.O. Box 31539, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 6K8 Phone: (867) 633-5476 Fax: (867) 633-6900 wmacns@web.ca www.wmacns.ca